COVID-19 in Nigeria update cases Omicron variant

COVID-19 Omicron Variant: Canada Bans Travellers From Nigeria, Two Other African Countries

COVID-19 in Nigeria update cases Omicron variant

COVID-19 Omicron Variant: Canada Bans Travellers From Nigeria, Two Other African Countries.

Canada has banned travellers from Nigeria and two other African countries.

The country announced the ban of Nigeria, Egypt and Malawi due to the COVID-19 Omicron variant.

Read all the latest health news in Nigeria here

This followed the concern raised by the World Health Organisation over the latest COVID-19 variant.

Nigeria was listed among the countries traced from travellers to be a carrier of the virus.

Although, the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control denied this, Canada has taken measures.

In an update released on Tuesday, health stakeholders in the country spoke on it.

They are:

  • The Minister of Health, the Honourable Jean-Yves Duclos.
  • The Minister of Transport, the Honourable Omar Alghabra.
  • The Honourable Marco Mendicino, Minister of Public Safety.

They announced additional measures to reduce the risk of importation of the COVID-19.

Based on data from surveillance to reduce the risk of importation, the government of Canada announced Egypt, Nigeria and Malawi to the list of banned countries.

See the latest health news in Nigeria on Hazard Allowance

“Effective tomorrow, foreign nationals who have been in any of these countries within the previous 14 days will not be permitted entry into Canada:

  1. Botswana.
  2. Egypt.
  3. Eswatini.
  4. Lesotho.
  5. Malawi.
  6. Mozambique.
  7. Namibia.
  8. Nigeria.
  9. South Africa.
  10. Zimbabwe.

“Canadian citizens, permanent residents and people with status under the Indian Act, regardless of their vaccination status or having had a previous history of testing positive for COVID-19, who have been in any of these 10 countries in the previous 14 days, will be subject to enhanced pre-entry and arrival testing, screening, and quarantine measures.

“Moving forward, border testing surveillance will be adjusted based. This will be on the latest available evidence to further reduce the risk of importation of this variant.

“In the coming days, all fully vaccinated travellers arriving by air from departure points other than the

“United States will be subject to arrival testing. Fully vaccinated travellers will be required to quarantine while they await the results of their arrival test.

“Unvaccinated travellers, with right of entry to Canada, will continue to be tested on arrival and day 8 and quarantine for 14 days. However, those arriving by air will now be required to stay in a designated quarantine facility or other suitable location while they await the result of their on arrival test.

“The Government of Canada will continue to assess the evolving situation, monitor case data, and adjust border measures as required. The Government of Canada is working collaboratively with its provincial and territorial counterparts. While the impact of all variants continues to be monitored in Canada, vaccination in combination with public health and individual measures, is working to reduce the spread of COVID-19 and its variants,” it said.

Also, read the latest health news on hydrocarbon exposure

The Minister of Health, Jean-Yves Duclos emphasized on measures to control the spread.

He said “We are taking quick action at our borders to mitigate travel-related importations of the Omicron variant.

“While our monitoring systems are working well, we now know that the Omicron variant is present in Canada.

“We need to remain vigilant in our own actions.

“Vaccination and simple public health measures. Such as; masking and limiting the number of persons we interact with slow down transmission, reduce hospitalisation and death, and protect our health systems from being overwhelmed.

“We must all continue to do our part to protect all people in Canada.”

Source: PUNCH HealthWise

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: