Saudi bans Nigeria

Saudi Suspends Flight From Nigeria Over COVID-19 Omicron Variant

Saudi bans Nigeria

Saudi Arabia has suspended all flights from Nigeria over the new COVID-19 Omicron variant.

This notice was released a few days after the United Kingdom issued a similar ban to Nigerian travellers over concerns of the COVID-19 Omicron variant.

See all the latest health news in Nigeria here

The country did not give a reason for this circular being released on Wednesday, December 8.

However, this circular will affect the 2022 lesser hajj pilgrims if the instructions are not reviewed in time.

The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia released this circular through its General Authority of Civil Aviation.

According to the document signed by the Assistant President for Economic Policies and Air Transport, non-citizens with a travel history to Nigeria in the last 14 would not be allowed to enter the Kingdom.

The circular read in part, “Instructions: Suspending all incoming flights and suspending entry to the kingdom for non-nationals coming directly or indirectly from the Federal Republic of Nigeria except for those who have spent a period of no less than 14 days in another country from which they are allowed to come.

“Home quarantine will be applied for a period of five days to Saudi citizens coming from the mentioned country, provided PCR examination on the first day and fifth day regardless of immunisation status.

“Failure to comply with circulars issued by GACA is an explicit violation of government’s orders. Legal procedures shall be initiated against violators who will be held responsible.”

Also, read the latest health news in Nigeria on COVID-19 booster shots

In November Canada raised concerns after two travellers from Nigeria tested positive for the Omicron Variant.

Subsequently, Canada listed Nigeria among the countries barred from entering the country.

Based on data from surveillance to reduce the risk of importation, the government of Canada announced Egypt, Nigeria and Malawi to the list of banned countries.

See the latest health news in Nigeria on Hazard Allowance

“Effective tomorrow, foreign nationals who have been in any of these countries within the previous 14 days will not be permitted entry into Canada:

  1. Botswana.
  2. Egypt.
  3. Eswatini.
  4. Lesotho.
  5. Malawi.
  6. Mozambique.
  7. Namibia.
  8. Nigeria.
  9. South Africa.
  10. Zimbabwe.

“Canadian citizens, permanent residents and people with status under the Indian Act, regardless of their vaccination status. Or having had a previous history of testing positive for COVID-19. Who have been in any of these 10 countries in the previous 14 days, will be subject to enhanced pre-entry and arrival testing, screening, and quarantine measures.

“Moving forward, border testing surveillance will be adjusted based. This will be on the latest available evidence to further reduce the risk of importation of this variant.

“In the coming days, all fully vaccinated travellers arriving by air from departure points other than the

“United States will be subject to arrival testing. Fully vaccinated travellers will be required to quarantine while they await the results of their arrival test.

“Unvaccinated travellers, with right of entry to Canada, will continue to be tested on arrival and day 8 and quarantine for 14 days. However, those arriving by air will now be required to stay in a designated quarantine facility or other suitable location while they await the result of their on arrival test.

“The Government of Canada will continue to assess the evolving situation, monitor case data, and adjust border measures as required. The Government of Canada is working collaboratively with its provincial and territorial counterparts. While the impact of all variants continues to be monitored in Canada, vaccination in combination with public health and individual measures, is working to reduce the spread of COVID-19 and its variants,” it said.

Source: PUNCH HealthWise

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: